2024 Best of Photojournalism Competition

A Call for Input

The 2023 Best of Photojournalism judging weekend team.

The Best of Photojournalism Committee is posting the proposed categories for the 2024 competition and seeking feedback from entrants. The journalism industry has been changing rapidly and no one knows this more than those who routinely enter their work – your opinion matters greatly to the committee.

The committee will take in feedback via an online form (available as a link on each division’s page, see below) through November 6. All of the comments will be shared, considered and incorporated into the final set of categories and rules.

The 2024 Best of Photojournalism competition will open for entries on Monday, December 18, 2023, and close on Sunday, January 21, 2024. The complete set of categories, rules and entry instructions will be posted here in early December.

Please take a few moments to review the proposed category descriptions for the 2024 competition. At the top and bottom of each division’s page is a link to an online form – you can comment on as many categories as you like. When you complete a comment on one category, you’ll see a link to submit a second one. You will need to provide your name and email address as there may be follow-up questions or clarifications.

For other questions or comments, please send an email to [email protected].

Still Photojournalism – Proposed Categories

Picture Editing – Proposed Categories

Video Photojournalism – Proposed Categories

Video Editing – Proposed Categories

Online Video, Presentation and Innovation – Proposed Categories

Documentary – Proposed Categories