Still Photojournalism Division Judges

Cathaleen Curtiss

Cathaleen Curtiss is an award-winning photojournalist, editor, and the current Director of Photography at the Buffalo News, with broad experience in online media as well as traditional print publications. An active member of the National Press Photographers Association (NPPA). Cathaleen was previously the Coordinator of Entrepreneurship and Visual Media Consultant at Daemen College. She is the President of the National Press Photographers Foundation (NPPF). She has had solo photography exhibits in NYC and Buffalo as well as juried work at the Corcoran Art Gallery, Library of Congress, the Building Museum and National Geographic. As the director of photography at the Buffalo News Cathaleen was named the 2021 small market picture editor of the year both in individual and team categories for BoP, she also advocated for and created the first ever drone team at the Buffalo News, as a photojournalist she has documented events from Super Bowls to Superpower Summits, covering three presidential administrations. In 1990 she was named, Photographer of the Year by the White House News Photographers Association. As Vice President of Global Photography at AOL, she built and managed a staff of visual content editors based in VA, NY, and Bangalore. While at AOL, she oversaw the direction, development, and implementation of AOL Visions and Cathaleen’s staff of picture editors and photographers accounted for 80% of all page views on AOL.

Jade-Snow Joachim

Jade-Snow Joachim is an award-winning photo editor with over 20 years of experience working at preeminent publications. She joined POLITICO as the Director of Photography in March. Previously, she was on staff at The New York Times, Washington Post and Bloomberg News. Jade-Snow has worked across the newsroom, overseeing the visual report for sports, business, arts, politics, international and national news. She has managed live edits and coordinated photographer teams for presidential nominating conventions, State of the Union addresses, Presidential Inaugurations, Olympics, World Series and the Tony Awards. She lives near New York City with her journalist husband, David and their two children. In her free time, Jade-Snow volunteers in her community as her daughter's Brownie Girl Scout leader and as a past president of the Junior League of Pelham. She recently picked up tennis and loves taking in a day game at Yankee Stadium.

Carl–Philippe Juste

Under the threat of persecution, Haitian-born Carl–Philippe Juste and his politically active family were forced to flee their homeland in 1965, eventually settling in Miami’s Haitian community. Since 1991, he has worked as an award-winning photojournalist for the Miami Herald.

Scott Strazzante

Scott Strazzante is a photojournalist at the San Francisco Chronicle. As a member of the Chicago Tribune staff, he was part of a team that won the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting for a series about faulty government regulation of dangerously defective toys, cribs and car seats. Strazzante is a former NPPA/POY National Newspaper Photographer of the Year, POYi Sports Photographer of the Year, POYi Community Awareness Award winner and an 11-time Illinois Photographer of the Year.

First Round Judges, Still Photojournalism Division

Randy Allen
Brian Baer
Sherry Brukbacher
Nelson Chan
Cindi Christie
Brian Corn
Bennie Davis
Sean Elliot
Jay Gorodetzer
Lolita Jones-Ramoutar
David Kent
Jeremy Lock
Joel Mason-Gaines
Caitlin Penna
Anne Raup
Molly Riley
Eric Seals
Chamberlain Smith
Miri Sova
Ross Taylor
Willard Taylor
David Trotman-Wilkins